Background Image


Light of Christ parish stewardship awards logo

English | Español

2022 Light of Christ Honorees

Congratulations to our 2022 Light of Christ honorees! Thank you for your dedication to your parish community and the example you set for others in leading a stewardship way of life.

2022 Light of Christ Honorees

Don’t miss these articles from the North Texas Catholic on our wonderful Light of Christ honorees.

The Light of Christ award is presented annually to lay individuals throughout the Diocese of Fort Worth who exemplify the light of Christ through lives of Christian Stewardship. Each parish recognizes one lay person or couple who live out their baptismal call in an extraordinary way through stewardship and leadership. Selected by their pastors, honorees are recognized at the annual Light of Christ Parish Stewardship Awards ceremony by Most Reverend Michael F. Olson, Bishop of Fort Worth.

You are the light of the world… your light must shine in the sight of all, so that, seeing your good works, they may give the praise to your Father in heaven.

(Matthew 5:14-16)


Honorees live out the four pillars of stewardship – prayer, hospitality, formation and stewardship – and are examples to others. This may include service in a parish ministry but can also include Christian service to the greater community. Honorees are practicing Catholics, in good standing, who use their gifts to deepen the life of the church in their parish or have served in an extraordinary way the ministry of the parish.

Only one individual (or one married couple) should be nominated per parish each year. Nominees should not be a priest, deacon, religious or a paid staff member. Married couples must be in a valid Catholic marriage and live a life of active faith in the Catholic Church. The nominee should be Virtus-certified, if their ministry requires it.

Nomination Process

Each pastor is asked to select one individual/couple each year. Each pastor may determine the nominating process within his parish, for example, he could make the selection, ask the pastoral council for suggestions, etc. Nominations are submitted through the online form below by April 15 of each year, with an award ceremony in June.

Nomination form
The nomination form should be filled out only by the Pastor or his representative.

Award Ceremony

Honorees and their pastors will attend the event together. Bishop Olson will present each honoree with a memento in appreciation of their lives of stewardship. Honorees will also receive a photo from the event, taken with their pastor and Bishop Olson. The North Texas Catholic will provide news coverage of the event. Parishes are encouraged to provide additional recognition for their honoree(s) at a parish liturgy or event.

The 2023 Light of Christ Parish Stewardship Awards is scheduled for Saturday, June 24 (10:30 AM to 12:30 PM). Location to be announced. Due to space limitations, only the pastor and the honorees should attend; however, each parish may hold its own recognition event, as desired.

Honorees for each year will be listed on the Advancement Foundation website.

Questions? If you have questions about the Light of Christ Parish Stewardship Awards, please contact Wendy Collins, Director of Stewardship and Parish Relations.



Wendy Collins
Director of Stewardship and Parish Relations

Broken link or website issue?